AMG Lite



Last updated





Welcome to the Page of the extremely attractive and very muscular NPC Bodybuilder ALISON McCARTHY!

(all pictures are used by Alison's personal permission)



Some Info about ALISON:


Where and when were you born? I was born on Dec 13th 1972 in Boston, Mass. I moved to Fremont, California at 7 and lived there until, I was married.


What is your profession? I’m a “stay at home” mom. I did some personal training back in the mid-90’s but found that it negatively effected my own workouts, so I went back to being a mom and wife ONLY……………..LOL.


Were you involved in sports or fitness prior to bodybuilding and how did you get started with weight training? Yes, I played high school basketball and ran track. When I was 18, I had a trainer but got burned out after about 1 year. I took off about 3 years. I started back in 1994 with a trainer, who eventually became my husband because it was cheaper to marry him, than to pay him for training.


Can you give me your competition history?
2001 Metrolina Bodybuilding Championships, Middleweight, 1st place
2001 Western North Carolina, Heavyweight 1st and overall
2001 Mountaineer Bodybuilding Championships, Middleweight 2nd place
2002 North Carolina State Heavyweight 1st and Overall


Which contest has been your biggest success; which has had the most meaning to you? The 2002 NC State show was my biggest success, because I placed 2nd at the Mountaineer and had people in the sport saying that I was finished, so I just decided to show them how finished I really was. The Western Carolina has the most meaning, because my family was there to see it and I felt the best at that show. I really didn’t diet too hard and was really only doing it because a friend at the gym was doing the show (her 1st ), so she asked me to do it with her for support. I dieted 7 weeks and surprisingly won the Heavyweight and Overall at that show.


Please tell me something about your training routine (ie: how many days per week / training split /cardio, etc.) Currently, we’re training 5 days a week.
Monday = Chest/calves
Tuesday = Quads/Hams
Wednesday = Biceps/Triceps/Calves
Thursday = Off
Friday = Quads morning and Shoulders evening
Saturday = Back/Calves
30 minutes of cardio in the morning, 5 days a week. During pre-contest I’ll do up to 2 hours a day, 1 hour in the morning and 1 hour in the evening 6 days a week.
We train abdominals every other day all year long, although, I do lag from time to time.


What is your favourite exercise in the gym and which one you don’t like so much? My favourite exercise is the barbell curl, because it gives a good shape to my biceps and I love the pump. I dislike squats the most of any other exercise, even though, I realize it is probably the most important exercise for leg development. I do them, I just don’t like them, OK.


Which body part is your best in your opinion? My boobs……….LOL. No really, probably my calves or my back is my best body-part. My husband would say that my back is my best body-part, because it has improved so much over the years.


If you don’t mind would you give me some stats (best lifts and some body measurements)? 
Height = 5’6
Off-season bodyweight = 200 lbs (I’ve been as heavy as 203)
Pre-contest bodyweight = 136 lbs (In June of 2002, started dieting at 173 lbs)
Current Bodyweight = 198 lbs
Shoulders = 45
Chest = 41 ˝ DD
Bicep = 15 ˝ (cold)
Waist = 28 ˝
Hips = 41
Thighs = 25 ˝ (cold)
Calves – 15 ˝


Bench press = 185 max, sets of 8 reps with 155 lbs
Pull –ups = sets of 12 reps with bodyweight
Dead-lifts = sets of 6 to 8 reps with 275 lbs
Barbell Curls = sets of 6 to 8 reps with 95 lbs
Dumbbell Curls = sets of 8 reps with 50’s
Squats = sets of 6 to 8 reps with 225
Leg Press = sets of 50 reps with 405 lbs (I hate these with a passion)


What do you enjoy about training for competition....what do you enjoy about the 'off season'? When I’m training for competition, I like the required determination of getting to the goal and the weekly changes in my physique. I also like being on a regimen, unlike the off-season. My personality likes to have a plan. I like the off-season because you get to lift heavier and your diet does not have to be so strict, but I have trouble with NOT having a tight schedule like the on-season.


Please describe a typical day in the life of Allison McCarthy. I get up around 5:30am, make my husband’s breakfast and get his food ready for work, all 4 meals. I get my coffee, go back to my room and either ride my bike or watch the news. Around 7:00am, I get my son (Killian) up for school. Take him to school and then go to the gym for a workout or go back home and do laundry or clean up a bit. At 11am, I must watch Maury Povich and then Jerry Springer at 12noon, afterwards, I take a nap and then it’s up to get Killian from school. At 5:30pm or so, my husband (Stacy) gets home and we go to the gym for our main workout of the day, then it’s back home for dinner and maybe another ride on the bike before bed. This changes depending on whether I’m dieting or not.


Please tell me about what you do when you don’t work out (hobbies, what do you do to relax? etc.) My hobby is bodybuilding. It’s my life, other than my son and husband. To relax, I like to watch movies, go out to eat, go to the beach etc. I really enjoy when I find a movie that I can watch over and over, without getting tired of it. My favourite movie is “Napoleon Dynamite” right now. It is so darn funny……..


What do you enjoy most about the bodybuilding/fitness lifestyle? Basically, the thing I like most about bodybuilding is that you are in a very small, close knit community, unlike other hobbies and sports. For instance, with beauty pageants, you can only do them for a short period of time. Bodybuilding can be done for life and you can really continue to improve your physique, well into your 50’s and 60’s. I also like the fact that my husband and I are both bodybuilders. We can really relate to one another because of this and understand what each is going through during the different phases of each year.


Tell me something interesting about yourself, something people may be surprised to hear. Believe it or not, I’m a very shy person. It really takes a lot for me to get out on stage and perform the posing routines and go through the callouts, although, I’m told that I am the life of the party back stage and somehow have a knack for getting other competitors motivated and pumped before going on stage.


What are your competition goals or personal future goals?
My future competition goals are to compete in a national qualifier in 2006 and also do either the USA or the Nationals. I just hope to break the top 10, my 1st time out. This is really just to get my feet wet at the national level. My personal future goals are to accomplish the above goals, while being the best mom, I can be for my 7 year old son and to also be a great wife to my husband and best friend of 11 years.


Please note:

Alison does not do sessions or wrestling of any kind. Please don't ask!!




ALISON's Photo Gallery:


click on image to enlarge  click on image to enlarge  click on image to enlarge  click on image to enlarge

click on image to enlarge  click on image to enlarge  click on image to enlarge  click on image to enlarge

click on image to enlarge  click on image to enlarge



Alison's own website will be coming soon...



Alison can be contacted by e-mail at:

[email protected]


E-mail Vicki



You are visitor


WEBCounter by GOWEB


© 2005 by Alison McCarthy

Page rendered in 0.0055 seconds