AMG Lite



Last updated





Welcome to the Page of the very attractive and muscular Canadian Bodybuilder LISA ROOT!

(all pictures are used by Lisa's personal permission)



Some Info about LISA:


Where and when were you born?
Born in Welland, Ontario, November 14, 1963


What is your profession?
Team leader of a problem gambling counselling program


What kind of activities/sports did you do before you started lifting weights?
Have never really been athletic, no sports, busy raising three sons


How and when did you get involved into lifting weights?
A little over 3 years ago, decided to join a gym to lose weight as I was quite overweight (175 lbs). the owner of the gym I joined (Rick Ujfalussy) convinced me to try weight training and worked with me for close to one year. With resistance training and a clean diet, I lost fat and gained muscle, changing my physique considerably. From early on, I was hooked on lifting weights.


Was it a goal for you to compete in bodybuilding competitions right from the beginning or was it something that grew in your mind as time went on and you saw the progress in your body?
Certainly it grew in my mind but because the progress was rather quick and dramatic, I began to consider competing on the suggestion of my trainer, Rick.


What was your first competition and how did you place?
My first competition was April 20, 2002, approximately one year from the time I started training. It was the National Gym Association, Can/Am event, in which I placed fourth in the women’s novice category.


And which contest has been the biggest success for you yet?
I placed second in the Southwestern Ontario Championships on November 20, 2004. Mary Lynne Mackenzie helped me to train for this competition; she’s awesome!


Could you please add a history of all contests that you have entered so far?
I’ve only competed twice.


Please describe a typical day in the life of Lisa Root.
All of my time is spent in working at my job, spending time with my three teenage sons, and training.


Please tell me something about your daily training routine.
I usually do about 40 minutes of cardio first thing in the morning, and then my weight training in the early evening, after work.


How often do you train in a week?
I try to get into the gym 6 days each week.


What are the main differences when you train for a competition and in off-season?
When training for a competition, I add a second cardio session in the evening, and keep the reps high with a wide variety of exercises. I also try to train my legs twice each week.


Which bodypart is your best in your opinion?
Some people say that I have big calves.


What is your favorite exercise in the gym and which one you don’t like so much?
I don’t think I have one favourite exercise, but I can say that I don’t like working my calves because they burn so much!


Please tell me about what else you are doing when you don’t work out (profession, hobbies, etc.)
As I mentioned, my time is spent with home, work and training. There isn’t much left over, so I find that I don’t do things like watch television. My favourite things to do are to hang out with my sons, who are a lot of fun.


What are your future plans for 2005?
I’m hoping to compete in a Level Two competition in Ontario in 2005. I’ve found my experience with competing has been fun and challenging, which keeps me motivated.


Please note:

Lisa does not do sessions or wrestling of any kind. Please don't ask!!




LISA's Photo Gallery:


click on image to enlarge  click on image to enlarge  click on image to enlarge  click on image to enlarge

click on image to enlarge  click on image to enlarge


© Photos are courtesy of Joanne Thomson



Lisa can be contacted by e-mail at:

[email protected]


E-mail Lisa



You are visitor


WEBCounter by GOWEB


© 2005 by Lisa Root

Page rendered in 0.0054 seconds