AMG Lite



Last updated





Welcome to the Page of the attractive and very muscular NPC National Level Bodybuilder JULIE PEAVEY!

(all pictures are used by Julie's personal permission)



Some Info about JULIE:


Where and when were you born?
I was born in Chicago Illinois on November the 9th, 1959.


What is your profession?
I am a personal fitness trainer and own my own personal training facility.


Were you involved in sports or fitness prior to bodybuilding and how did you get started with weight training?
Women were not really involved very much in sport when I was growing up, but I did learn to ride horses. I ended up teaching riding; training and showing Saddle bred horses. I weight trained briefly during my riding days in order to build up enough upper body strength to deal with the power of the show horse when ground training them and driving them. I quit training and went thru a bought with anorexia. It was weight training that actually saved my life. I got mono while I was in the midst of the anorexia, and being so hyperactive, the doctors were afraid to have me resting. I was told that I could do no aerobics, but that I could “ go play with some weights” so play I did! I never stopped lifting after touching those weights that very first day. Weightlifting built back my atrophied muscle tissue, regenerated my metabolism and lifted up my self-esteem. I learned a great deal about the body and nutrition and my heart muscle even regenerated the portion that had been consumed by starvation.


Was it a goal for you to compete in bodybuilding competitions right from the beginning or was it something that grew in your mind as time went on and you saw the progress in your body?
It was never my goal to compete when I started lifting. as I was quite content at that point for the help it had already provided me with. In fact, when I first saw women bodybuilders, it was not attractive to me because I simply was not used to viewing women that way. Once I started gaining some muscle mass and some curves, I began to appreciate the look of an athletic female physique .The feelings I got from lifting were enormously empowering and quite addictive. It soon became quite apparent that my genetics were above average.


Can you give me your competition history?
It is difficult to remember my contest history, as there was a long absence from my competition days in the 80’s up until the present.


Which contest has been your biggest success; which has had the most meaning to you?
Since I have only been back to competing, for one year, getting myself back into contest shape after a 12 year layoff at 45 years old feels like my biggest success, and also has the most meaning to me. I am looking forward to seeing the changes that I have created this year and creating many more for next year.


Please tell me something about your training routine (ie: how many days per week / training split /cardio, etc.)
Most of my training consists of a variety of high intensity, low volume exercise. In the off-season I generally train 2 to 3 days per week with no aerobics. Pre contest I train 3 to 4 days per week and do just enough aerobics to shave off my body fat and to not have to starve myself. And my muscle tissue.


What is your favorite exercise in the gym and which one you don’t like so much?
My favorite exercise in the gym is definitely chin-ups. I enjoy the power in them. I simply cannot think of an exercise that I do not like. I enjoy the challenge.


Which body part is your best in your opinion?
My best body part has always been my last, but other parts are really catching up to them.


If you don’t mind would you give me some stats (best lifts and some body measurements)?
We use very little free weights, so it would be difficult to give best lifts. I do manage to stay ahead of both sexes in the gym. Especially in the leg press and the bench-press department. I use about 800 pounds on our medx leg press and in the 460 pound on our medx bench press. I am always trying to better myself. As far as measurements.. shoulders-47 inches.. chest 40 inches- waist 27 inches-hips 37 inches- arms 15 inches-calves 14.5 inches- thighs-23.5


What do you enjoy about training for competition....what do you enjoy about the 'off season'?
The thing that I enjoy most about training for competition is seeing the metamorphosis of my physique and getting the chance to see and appreciate the results of the hard work I put in all year long. In the off-season I enjoy being able to see my friends and family and not being hungry all of the time ! I also like to have the off-season to make the changes necessary for me to show improvements in future competitions.


Please describe a typical day in the life of Julie Peavey.
Contest days are pretty standard stuff. They include just the basics.. eat 5 to 6 meals .. cook, weigh and package the meals…do aerobics .. lift and keep on as much of my work schedule as I can. I do try and relax for 1 hour when I come home at night ad watch All My Children. I also take care of my 3 dogs and 2 cats, which by the way think I am wonderful even when I am contest dieting !!! Off-season I try and loosen up a little bit on my diet and try to go out once in a while. I get to spend more time with my animals, my family and my friends.


Please tell me about what you do when you don’t work out ( hobbies, what do you do to relax?, etc.)
Since I own my own business, there is not a great deal of time to relax. I enjoy spending time with my animals, showing and breeding Airedale Terriers, being outside, biking ,hiking, watching a good movie, feeding the birds and watching them , and of course sipping on a mug of Starbucks coffee.


What do you enjoy most about the bodybuilding/fitness lifestyle?
I enjoy most of all the empowerment that bodybuilding gives you.


Tell me something interesting about yourself, something people may be surprised to hear.
I was an art major and specialized in watercolor painting.


What are your competition goals or personal future goals?
My goal in bodybuilding is to become as symmetrical as I can and maintain my femininity while becoming more muscular. I want to get my pro card and be involved in helping women’s bodybuilding take on a whole new appeal and gain more interest, I hope to keep on encouraging women to take an active role in their health and to try and to become the best that they can be. In the future, my hopes are to be able to have the time and finances to open a handicapped assisted weight lifting facility in order to be able to give to people the empowerment and self esteem that weightlifting gave to me.


Please note:

Julie does not do sessions or wrestling of any kind. Please don't ask!!




JULIE's Photo Gallery:


click on image to enlarge  click on image to enlarge  click on image to enlarge  click on image to enlarge

click on image to enlarge  click on image to enlarge  click on image to enlarge  click on image to enlarge

click on image to enlarge  click on image to enlarge  click on image to enlarge  click on image to enlarge


© All Photos have been taken by myself



Video clips:


Video clip (6.7 MB)  Video clip (6.4 MB)

© Video clips have been taken by myself



Please also check out Julie's own website at:



Julie can be contacted by e-mail at:

[email protected]


E-mail Julie



You are visitor


WEBCounter by GOWEB


© 2005-2006 by Julie Peavey

Page rendered in 0.0087 seconds